Big Mind; Short Focus

Creativity is a blessing, if only it lasts. Struggles in keeping attention will almost always lead to my stumps in creativity. Unable to maintain my attention on projects for long periods of time, I quickly find myself drifting off into my thoughts. Because of this, I find myself doing many different tasks for short periods of time as a method of coping with my work load.

There are many things that this will often prevent me from accomplishing, one of the biggest annoyances is in my ideas for writing, in the way I will start upon something; however, if I do not keep to it and do it all in one sitting, regardless of anything that is written down, it will all leave my mind and be encompassed by some new idea.

My envies have always been given to those with the ability to start on something and complete it without fearing that the ideas will leave their mind should they leave it for a minute. In order to combat my short focus I will give myself goals as a method of motivation. Though these do not always work, they reduce my risk in abandoning something half complete.

This probably will often explain the shortness in my writing, as any longer and it would be completely scrapped by a new interest. With shortness in attention span, it is important to only do what you know you can do. Rather than what you think you can do. Give yourself as much of an opportunity to complete as you are able to, as distractions are often inevitable.

For me, I find that music will often help me concentrate as it prevents me from focusing too heavily upon events that are happening outside of the things I am doing.

Just because you cannot do the same as those around you, does not make you any less of an equal to them. We just take different views and look at the world from a different light and experience it in a different way. There will always be things that you can do that others cannot. Believe in yourself; even if the world tells you otherwise.

“You can be the moon and still be jealous of the stars” – Gary Allan

Leave a Reply

